The Portal of  Tourism and Information about Aeolian Islands and Travel Guide 

The vast marine area comprises seven islands: Lipari, Vulcano, Salina, Panarea, Filicudi Alicudi and Stromboli. The Aeolian Islands are a volcanic archipelago in the Tyrrhenian Sea north of Sicily, named after the demigod of the winds Aeolus. The locals residing on the islands are known as Eolians. The Aeolian Islands are a popular tourist destination in the summer, and attract up to 200,000 visitors annually. The largest island is Lipari. Only two volcanoes are still active: Vulcano, no longer eruptive phase after that of 1888-90, now limits its geological EMISSIONS phase sulfide gas at high temperature and Stromboli continues its cyclical activities eruption of lava accompanied by clouds of steam flow into the sea on route called "skiing fire"



eXTReMe Tracker